Amtrak Route Scrapbooks

Texas Eagle

amtk_route_TexasEagle The Texas Eagle is a 1,306-mile passenger train route operated by Amtrak in the central and western United States, numbered trains 21 and 22.. Trains run daily between Chicago, Illinois, and San Antonio, Texas, and continue to Los Angeles, California, 2,728 miles total, three days a week as a section of the Sunset Limited. Prior to 1988, the train was known as the Eagle. Amtrak's Texas Eagle is the direct successor of the Missouri Pacific Railroad and Texas & Pacific Railway train of the same name, which was inaugurated in 1948 and ultimately discontinued in 1971. The route of today's Texas Eagle is longer -- Chicago to San Antonio versus St. Louis to San Antonio -- but much of the current route makes use of the original Texas Eagle route. St. Louis to Texarkana and Taylor, Texas, to San Antonio is over former Missouri Pacific Railroad trackage, while the Texarkana to Fort Worth segment traverses the former Texas & Pacific Railway. The Eagle began in 1981, as a restructuring of the discontinued Inter-American. The Texas Eagle makes use of a typical long-distance Superliner double-level consist with one Genesis locomotive, with crew change stopes in St. Louis and Ft. Worth.

From the "city of big shoulders" to the state that made "bigness" a virtue, the Texas Eagle will truly delight and amaze you from start to finish. If having a big heart is prized, the "heart of Texas" has it all wrapped up. So many superlatives are attached to its cities and wide-open spaces that you will immediately see it for yourself: things really are bigger here in the heartland of the Southwest, and nowhere more so than your views from the big windows of the Texas Eagle. From the Windy City through to St. Louis and on to the prairies and oil fields of Texas, to the modern cosmopolitan skyscrapers of Dallas, to the state capitol at Austin, to the pine forest and immense landscape conjuring images of cowboys and stagecoaches, to the picturesque Hill Country and on to "Remember the Alamo" at San Antonio -- this is truly your introduction into the Spirit that is Texas. So prop up your boots and relax -- you're entering the Lone Star State-of-Mind-Zone!



MP timetable


Texas Eagle route map / web






Click to see Chicago Union Station plotted on a Google Maps page

St. Louis

Click to see St. Louis Amtrak platform plotted on a Google Maps page

Marshall, Tx

Click to see the Marshall depot area plotted on a Google Maps page

The Texas & Pacific Railway Depot, commonly referred to as the "T&P Depot," is the only surviving structure of the Texas and Pacific Railway shops complex which originally consisted of fifty-seven buildings spanning 66 acres. The T&P Depot is located in the Ginocchio National Historic District and was built in 1912 to house the T&P passenger station and the headquarters of railroad's eastern district. The building welcomed soldiers in both World War I and World War II, and at its height housed telegraph and immigration offices.

During the 1970s a series of events led to the station being abandoned. Amtrak passenger trains used the building beginning in 1974, however in 1988 the Union Pacific Railroad, which owned the property, filed for a permit to demolish the building. The community intervened and throughout the 1990s worked to save the Depot and the building was restored and resumed service as the local train station; additionally, much of the building houses the Texas & Pacific Railway Museum.



Amtrak #152

  • builder:General Electric
  • model:P42DC
  • type:B-B passenger unit
  • built:Mar 2001, GE #52848
  • series:321 produced 1992-2001
  • engine:GE 7FDL16 (16 cyl, 4250 hp)
  • notes:
  • 1 of 207 Genesis units at top of roster
  • builder
    Click to see the Dallas Amtrak Union Station platform plotted on a Google Maps page
    dallas7 dallas9

    Dallas, Tx / Jun 2009 / RWH


    Ft. Worth

    Click to see Ft. Worth Amtrak station plotted on a Google Maps page



    Summer 2009


    Roll on, over flatlands, foothills, and bogs
    Roll on, ‘cross gulleys, creeks, and channels
    Roll on, past fields, hamlets, and boroughs

    Shuffle through ribbon bends in the line
    Blast over road crossings where they wait
    Chug away from platform-stops, siding-rests

    Roll on, from the brisk rain to the arid sun
    Roll on, from headwaters down to gulf lands
    Roll on, past the hulks of labor’s great past

    Shoot by locals, shifters, sisters in the hole
    Thump over diamonds and other rows to hoe
    Squeal ‘round tight changes in your course

    Roll on, keeping the pace and making up time
    Roll on, with the seasoned and virgins alike
    Roll on, with lives aboard as varied as the run

    From one high green to another
    It's your time to move

    Roll on

    RWH 2009


    1958 timetable


    1967 timetable

    Links / Sources

    This page was updated on 2016-10-22